Love & Family

Wet Oatmeal Kisses

blue & white 6

Good Morning Friends ~

Today I would love to share with you something very special to me.  Our oldest (Kristin) gave me this one year (I believe she was in High School) for Christmas –

I was cleaning the space in which it sits, and started reading it once again.  It brought tears to my eyes, because it is so true.

If you are a new mom or a mom of many years, you both will enjoy it, because it’s from the heart.

ENJOY ~

~Wet Oatmeal Kisses ~

“The baby is teething; the children are fighting.  My husband just called and said to eat dinner without him.”  Okay, one of these days you’ll shout: “Why don’t you grow up and act your age!” and they will, or “You guys get outside and find yourselves something to do…. and don’t slam the door.” and they won’t.

You’ll straighten up their rooms neat and tidy….bumper stickers discarded….spreads tucked and smooth….toys displayed on the shelves…hangers in the closet….animals caged, and you’ll say out loud: “Now I want it to stay that way,” and it will…. You’ll prepare a perfect dinner with a salad that hasn’t been picked to death and a cake with no finger traces in it and you’ll say, “Now there’s a meal for company,” and you’ll eat it alone.

You’ll say, “I want complete privacy on the phone.  No dancing around, no pantomimes, no demolition screws. Silence! do you hear?” and you’ll have it.  No more plastic tablecloths stained with spaghetti, no more anxious nights under a vaporizer tent, no more dandelion bouquets, no more iron-on patches, knotted shoestrings, tight boots.

Imagine, a lipstick with a point, no babysitters for New Year’s Eve, washing clothes only once a week, no PTA meetings, carpools, blaring radios, Christmas presents out of toothpicks and paste.  No more wet oatmeal kisses.  No more tooth fairy, giggles in the dark, or knees to heal.

Only a voice crying, “Why don’t you grow up?” and the silent echoing, “I did.”

After spending the weekend with our girls, my heart is overjoyed seeing them together, how much they love each other, and how much respect is there ~

I had to say Goodbye again to our youngest (Alyson) sending her back to LA where she lives, my mind says go honey be well, be good, care for others like you would want to be cared for, be honest and trustworthy, but my heart says “Please stay”.

Kristin lives in Brooklyn and we are only 3 hrs by car, but every time I see her I am so happy to be in her company.  She shares her life with an amazing woman (Jenny)~they have been married for 1.5 years.  Their home is so inviting, I never want to leave.  I am so grateful they have each other.

I hope you remember when your children were so little, and everything seemed so crazy, and if you are in the crazy part of your life now ~ it goes so fast so enjoy every minute of them now.

Much love,

Rose

2 thoughts on “Wet Oatmeal Kisses”

  1. Oh, Rosie… I love this… what a wonderful message to all parents… how we long for them to grow up and then we get exactly what we’ve asked for, then we want them to be little again… The cycle of life… Thank you so much for sharing… Love, Josie xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

